Adult Learning Theory for Kids

I’m in DC for Christmas and  talking with my mother about the Merriam and  Bierema work from  Adult Learning-Linking Theory and Practice (Chapter Two: Traditional Learning Theories).  After reviewing the theories covered in the chapter, she suggested to take the good from each and apply them to student learning.

Here is my first shot!!

Create clear and attainable intrinsically motivated destinations for learning, offer individual and group modeled scaffolding techniques to build more complex levels of understanding, give self monitoring mechanisms, build networking skills by offering communicative technologies, and celebrate equally success, failure, and adjustments made along the way. Finally, allow everyone to share their work by answering these three questions: What did we do? How well did we do it? Is anyone better off?

Published by

timhoulton

I love learning! I'm in a leadership program at UCONN called UCAPP. I teach 6th grade science at Haddam-Killingworth Middle School in Killingworth, CT. I am excited to grow as a teacher and as a leader.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *